Chemotherapy and Radiotherapy

The end of September 2016 came around, almost fully recovered from the radical prostatectomy meant it was time to have more scans to determine the success of the surgery. Unfortunately, 3 more tumours were detected. As crushing as the news was, I had to remain positive, not only for myself, but my family as well. Stress and negativity only feeds the cancer and I was ready to defeat it.

Because of the 3 tumours discovered, it was vital I did a course of chemotherapy. I started the chemotherapy mid-October. As you can imagine, there are countless side effects of chemo other than just hair loss, it can cause severe tiredness, infections, chronic nausea and vomiting, anaemia, nerve and muscle problems, mood changes – the list could go on. Luckily, I didn’t suffer too much from the nausea and vomiting. I remember my sense of taste went which is quite a strange sensation. To be honest, my tongue had a weird furry feeling which made everything unappetising anyway – even water was a struggle as it just felt like slime!

Despite the endless list of side effects, I felt chemotherapy was my best option – like everything, there will always pros and cons. To keep faith and remain positive, it was vital I focus on the pros, the biggest one being that it offered me the best chances of survival. Everybody is different with different views on treatment. Everyone is entitled to their own choice. Some people may opt for alternative treatment and medicines or holistic therapy but, like chemo, there are downsides to these, the biggest one for alternatives being there is no proven evidence that they work. For me and my situation, conventional medicine was the only answer. It is so important to make an informed choice, there are so many different treatments offered you really need to do thorough research, it’s not a decision to be taken lightly. Ultimately there is only one person who can decide what route to go down – you.

The end of February 2017 was fast approaching and my course of chemotherapy was complete. The 4 months proved to be worthwhile as two of my tumours had been eradicated and the last one remaining shrank by an impressive 75%.

This wasn’t the end of the road. Mid-March 2017, I started radiotherapy to kill remaining malignant cells. I had to stick to a very strict routine during my radiotherapy. Each morning I had to make sure my bowels were empty but also drink two pints of water to ensure my bladder was full – this is to make the bladder rise so it’s easier to scan the area. I did this every working day for 8 weeks. A lengthy process but I soon adapted to the routine. By mid-May 2017, my radiotherapy was complete.

If you read my previous blog, ‘The Results are in…Any Signs of Cancer?’  my cancer is thankfully in remission which is AMAZING! I wanted to share my journey from diagnosis to surgery to chemo to the point I am at now. I have now begun my fitness regime – it’s vital my health is well looked after making my chances of keeping the cancer at bay even better, offering me a more enjoyable lifestyle and ensuring my well-being is optimum now and in the future.

Make sure you carry on reading, I will be sharing my journey on the road to fitness and health!

Leave a comment