Scans and Surgery

The news of my cancer was feeling more real by the day. This is the stage where I was undergoing scans to determine whether the cancer had spread any further. I had an MRI scan (Magnetic Resonance Imaging) which investigated my organs and internal structures of the body. I also had a CT scan (Computed Tomography) which offered a highly detailed image of my internal organs. Lastly, there was a bone scan which would detect any abnormalities or changes with my bones and joints. Thankfully, the cancer had not spread and remained contained within my abdomen but had gotten to my lymph nodes which, looking at things from an optimist’s point of view in this horrible situation, was sort of a silver lining.

4th August 2016. The big day. This is the day I went in for a Radical Prostatectomy. This is open surgery whereby a large incision was made to my lower abdomen and then I had my prostate gland and tissues removed – obviously, I was under general anaesthetic for the entire 4 hours of the procedure so I was completely oblivious as to what was going on down there…thankfully! When I woke up, I had an oxygen mask on to control my breathing while the anaesthetic wore off, a drip in my arm giving me required fluids and pain relief, a catheter to drain urine from my bladder and a tube in my lower abdomen draining excess fluids that built up in the area where my prostate used to be.

The surgery was successful, I had about 22 cancerous lymph nodes removed. Post-surgery, I was out of action and unable to function for about 4 weeks. A great chunk of that time was spent in bed recovering. Because the type of surgery I underwent was so invasive, there was very little I could do (riding my motorbike was DEFINITELY out of the equation) other than rest and build my strength up. This is my main motivation for fundraising for the Rory the Robot appeal, a campaign to get robotic assisted keyhole surgery available for people in the Worcestershire area. There are a plethora of benefits offered from robotic surgery, click here to find out more.

4 weeks into my recovery process, I unfortunately developed an abdominal and urinary tract infection because of the surgery (a fairly common side effect). That resulted in me going back into hospital and being put an antibiotic drip for 5 days to eradicate infections.

Overall, the surgery went well, but the journey is far from over. ..

One thought on “Scans and Surgery”

Leave a comment