Why I’m a WPAG Supporter

Would you have a quick blood test if there was a chance it could save your life? If you read my blog or follow my Twitter, @Prost8CancerWR, you’ll know I am a PSA test advocate. This is why I’m a trustee and supporter of Worcestershire Prostate Awareness Group, if it wasn’t for WPAG, the charity set up by retired oncologist, David Baxter-Smith and Dorothy Baxter-Smith and the PSA testing events they organise, I wouldn’t be here today. Like the majority of men, I never would have had the PSA test otherwise, and would be completely oblivious to my prostate cancer, until it was too late.

It’s amazing to think how many more lives have been saved thanks to this simple blood test. Although there is scepticism regarding the PSA test, I can’t recommend every man getting one strongly enough. My mission is to raise awareness of prostate cancer, the importance of a PSA test and the amazing work WPAG do, ensuring the lives of the men of Worcestershire are not cut short by this relentless disease.

Together, we are working on several more PSA testing events before the year is out – so far WPAG have tested close to 90,000 men in Worcrestershire – we want that number to keep growing. Be sure to follow @WPA_Group on Twitter for updates on upcoming PSA events!

These events are only made possible thanks to the support and kind donations made to WPAG. Without support from The Worcestershire Ambassadors, Local businesses, The Worcestershire News (click here to check out our latest Worcestershire News Article) and the generosity of individuals wanting to make a difference and help this cause, the charity would cease to exist. We are determined to continue our winning fight against prostate cancer, every penny help to make a difference and is greatly appreciated. Let’s keep the momentum going and continue to save the lives of the men of Worcestershire!

Check out the WPAG Just Giving page here and encourage every lad, dad and man you know to have their PSA test done! To find out more about PSA testing and what it’s all about, check out my previous blog here. 

 

We are social! Be sure to follow my Twitter, @Prost8CancerWR, and Worcestershire Prostate Awareness Group’s Twitter @WPA_Group 

Leave a comment